ICD-10 Diagnosis Code Changes


This article contains information that is helpful for Headway providers. If you are a client and have questions, check out our support articles for clients!


Diagnostic Codes (ICD-10 Codes) are updated on October 1st of every year. Here, you can find recent updates to ICD-10 coding conventions that may impact you.


Table of Contents




F43.8 is no longer a billable diagnosis code. In the update on October 1st, 2022, the guidelines have removed F43.8 and added two more specific codes for better clarity and ease of choice for providers. These codes are:

  • F43.81 - Prolonged Grief Disorder; Complicated Grief; Complicated Grief Disorder; Persistent complex bereavement disorder and
  • F43.89 - Other reactions to severe stress.


Which codes can I use instead of F43.8?

You can use F43.81 or F43.89 for specificity. Please choose whichever code is most relevant.



Check back for updates! 


Code Description Changes

Check back for updates! 



This document is intended for educational purposes only. It is designed to facilitate compliance with payer requirements and applicable law, but please note that the applicable laws and requirements vary from payer to payer and state to state. Please check with your legal counsel or state licensing board for specific requirements.

Articles in this section